When a New Zealand biological party camped here in January 1961, a storm destroyed their tents and it was necessary to remove ice from Borchgrevink's 'living hut' for accomodation. After 82 hours and with only the hut half cleared of ice they moved in. Before leaving, crew members from the US icebreaker Eastwind assisted with weatherproofing the hut. The second New Zealand party camped here in February 1973 when further repairs were made to Borchgrevink's 'living hut' and some artefacts were recovered and moved inside. Further repairs were made by New Zealand field parties in 1982 and in 1990, a new cladding was attached to the roof exterior, the site was surveyed and an archaeological excavation was made in the ice-filled stores hut. Artefacts were removed to New Zealand for conservation.
Although much evidence of the early expeditions is buried in penguin guano and beach gravel, there are still artefacts of the Southern Cross expedition to be seen in Borchgrevink's huts and about the historic site. Supplies include tins of limejuice nodules, dried potato and army rations, a side of Wiltshire bacon, Lea and Perrins Worcestershire sauce, the frame for a kayak found by the 1911 Northern Party on Duke of York Island, hessian dog coats with red braid edging and much graffitti including the signature of Hanson. In the 'stores hut is the bow of the whale boat destroyed in 1899. About the site are wooden barrels, pegs marking dog tethering sites, a fine anchor from the Southern Cross and distintegrated boxes of ammunition. With exception of the Northern Party hut, Borchgrevink's 'living hut' is in good condition but the 'stores hut' has major structural problems. Metal artefacts in particular have suffered salt corrosion. The huts and artefacts are the responsibility of the New Zealand Antarctic Programme and are being maintained by the Antarctic Heritage Trust which will see that this unique site of the first habitants on the Antarctic continent is preserved for future generations.